Onyx

Onyx (др.-греч. ὄνυξ, ноготь) — is a mineral, chalcedony (fibrous) variety of quartz, in which small amounts of impurities create pane parallel colored layers. Color banding varieties of marble are often called Mexican onyx or Algerian onyx.

Color — Onyx has a variety of colors; it can be brown with white and black patterns, red-brown, yellow-brown, honey, and white with yellowish or pinkish bands range. Onyx is generally characterized by plane-parallel bands of different colors. Sardonyx - parallel-banded variety of Fiery Carnelian, orange-red Carnelian and sometimes red-black Carnelian.


Application

Since prehistoric time Red onyx and Sardonyx used by people for manufacturing of small carved art products (glyptics) and carved lead impression block. This is one of the most valuable ornamental stone.

Calcite (marble, etc.) species of onyx are widely used, it is accessible and well-priced decorative fabricating material. As before it is widely used in the manufacture of household and large-scale products: all sorts of small and medium plastic figures, onyx vases, boxes, candlesticks, countertops.

It can be used in mosaic, veneer. It is comparatively inexpensive ornamental stone. Onyx is often used in creating of a variety of jewelry; most of especial and high-quality varieties of sardonyx are used in creating of cameo, in which the higher part of a dark image contrasts with a light background.

Оникс

О́никс (др.-греч. ὄνυξ, ноготь) — минерал, халцедоновая (волокнистая) разновидность кварца, в котором незначительные по количеству примеси создают плоскопараллельные окрашенные слои. Полосчато-окрашенную разновидность мрамора часто называют мексиканскийоникс или алжирский оникс.

Цвет — коричневый с белыми и чёрными узорами, красно-коричневый, коричнево-жёлтый, медовый, белый с желтоватыми или розоватыми прослоями. Для оникса особо характерны плоско-параллельные слои разного цвета. Сардоникс — параллельно-полосчатая разновидность сердолика огненного, оранжево-красного, иногда почти красно-чёрного цвета.


Применение

Агатовый и сердоликовый оникс («сардоникс», «сард») использовался людьми с доисторических времён для изготовления небольших резных художественных изделий (глиптика), а также резных цилиндрических печатей. Это один из наиболее ценных поделочных камней.

Кальцитовые (мраморный и др.) виды ониксов широко распространены и относятся к наиболее доступным и недорогим декоративно-поделочным материалам. Как раньше, так и теперь, они широко используются в серийных бытовых и крупных изделиях: это всевозможная мелкая и средняя пластика, ониксовые вазы, шкатулки, подсвечники, столешницы.

Применяется также в мозаике и облицовке. Сравнительно недорогой поделочный камень. Из оникса часто вырезают разнообразные ювелирные изделия, из наиболее редких и качественных сортов сардоникса — камеи, в которых более высокая часть темного изображения контрастирует со светлым фоном.